Deeper into the J-Pop underground

Over the last year I’ve driven a few people around the bend by forcing them to listen to my latest obsession: J-Pop. But, not the run of the mill, mass produced stuff.  I’m talking about Guitar Wolf, The 5,6,7,8’s, Polysics, Go! Go! Go! 7188, The Pillows, and really my favourite: Puffy AmiYumi.

However, tonight I’m going to Pacific Cinemateque to see a film called “Ringing in Their Ears”:

Ringing in Their Ears

(Gekijouban Shinsei kamatte-chan: Rokkun rôru wa nari tomaranai) 劇場版 神聖かまってちゃん ロックンロールは鳴り止まないっ
Japan 2011. Director: Yu Irie
Cast: Fumi Nikaido, Kurumi Morishita, Tatsuya Sakamoto, Uji Kiyotaka, Yui Miura, Mikihito Tsurugi

VANCOUVER PREMIERE! ► Real-life rock band Shinsei Kamattechan forms the nucleus of Yu Irie’s irreverent comedy/drama charting the rise of an indie band to major label success and the fictional lives of some of their most unusual fans. This web of fact mixed with fiction culminates in an electric live performance by Shinsei Kamattechan and its charismatic and quirky lead singer Noko. Director Yu Irie gained worldwide fame after his 2009 film 8000 Miles (Saitama Rapper) won the top prize at Japan’s Yubari International Fantastic Film Festival. Since then, Irie has delivered two sequels to that breakout hit about urban rappers in suburban Japan and has become one of Japan’s hottest young filmmakers. Colour, HDCAM, in Japanese with English subtitles. 89 mins.

I checked out the trailer and it looks pretty cool. Then, I looked at some of the band’s videos… wow… this will be a trip – I’ve posted them below. Come see it with me? You’re welcome to.  Okay, I better go catch the bus downtown or I’ll miss the start…

This entry was posted in Art, Culture, Film, J-Pop, Japan, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment